1261 Followers
197 Following
CarpeLibrum

Carpe Librum

Reviews and bookish conversation with author Samantha Wilcoxson.

If I am lost, you will find me in medieval England.

You can also find me - and my books - on my blog.

Historical Novel Society

Currently reading

The Beaufort Bride: The Life of Margaret Beaufort
Judith Arnopp
The Unholy Trinity: Blocking the Left's Assault on Life, Marriage, and Gender
Matt Walsh
In the School of the Holy Spirit
Jacques Philippe

Get to know me too!

Are you named after anyone?

 

My parents have a story about getting the name Samantha from a 1970s Pepsi commercial. So, yeah, that's pretty impressive.

 

When was the last time you cried?

 

I don't know. 5 minutes ago? I once had a friend tell me that I could win a crying contest. I asked her to please not enter me in one.

 

Do you have kids?

 

Three kids that are much better people than I was as a kid.

 

If you were another person, would you be a friend of yourself?

 

Probably not. It takes a while to break into my inner circle, and I don't have patience for people like that.

 

Do you use sarcasm a lot?

 

Less ever since I read that sarcasm is always aggressive. Now it makes me feel like a meanie.

 

Will you ever bungee-jump?

 

Hell to the no.

 

What’s your favorite cereal?

 

Raisin Bran. Wow does that make me sound old!

 

What is your eye colour?

 

Green with specks of yellow, kind of like a peridot

 

Scary movie or happy endings?

 

How about epic historic saga?

 

Favorite smells?

 

Fruit, baked goods, the ocean

 

Summer or winter?

 

Sunbathing, boating, kids home from school, warm & toasty summer. Yet I live in Michigan, home of the 9 month winter. I don't know what's wrong with me either.

 

Computer or television?

 

Computer. Most stuff on TV is not worth wasting brain cells on.

 

What’s the furthest you’ve ever been from home?

 

Honduras

 

Do you have any special talents?

 

Speed reading, cocktail mixing, beach bumming, hugging, bigamous reading, listening, introverting, and neglecting housework.

 

Where were you born?

 

Michigan. I have never escaped.

 

What are your hobbies?

 

Caring more about medieval history than anyone else I know, which is why I have online friends. Spending time at the lake. Renovating our house. Camping. Bibliophiling.

 

Do you have any pets?

 

2 cats. I was also recently convinced that 2 dogs were a good idea. Worst decision ever.

 

Favourite film?

 

I have a difficult time staying awake through an entire movie, but A Knight's Tale is fun pseudo history that allows me to look at Heath Ledger for 90 minutes.

 

Do you have any siblings?

 

One sister, who it took me decades to truly appreciate.

 

What do you want to be when you grow up?

 

My goal is to be a novelist and give up freelance writing. I have acquired the ability to write at least 300 words on any topic you can imagine (you'd be surprised what some people will pay someone to write about), but I'd rather be immersed in the 15th century.